Water, Wind and Fire: Songs By Sisters

CAVS/Fountain FTN 2506 (1977)

Folk albums by nuns were fairly common in the 1960’s and 1970’s; this site features Roman Catholic religious such as Juliana Garza and the School Sisters of Notre Dame.  This one, however, is different in one important respect: the sisters are Anglican. Two of them were of the Community of the Holy Name in Malvern, England, and one was of the Community of St. Mary the Virgin in Wantage, England.

The album has a melismatic quality that separates it from many other albums, sometimes having a faint echo of Hildegard von Bingen, although I doubt the performers would make the analogy.  The instrumentation is light, the vocals are excellent.  It’s definitely worth a listen.

The songs:

  1. Water, Wind & Fire
  2. Come Up to Jerusalem!
  3. Welcome, Jesus!
  4. O Beautiful!
  5. Pentecost Song
  6. Glory Blues
  7. I Wake in the Morning
  8. Come Unto Me
  9. Trinity Song
  10. Adonai!
  11. Oh Living One!
  12. When I Say, ‘Jesus’

Click here for more music

3 Replies to “Water, Wind and Fire: Songs By Sisters”

  1. Is it quire legal to download this, can I pay for it?
    First Christian LP I ever heard
    Looking for it for years

    Joe Stevens

    1. I don’t think this has been in distribution for years, although it could easily be put back there. If that happens, it comes down here.

      One thing you could do is to post it to YouTube, if they want to make money from it, they can claim the ad revenue.

Leave a Reply